1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

2008 Blues Blast Music Award Winners

John Nemeth, Chicago blues legend Magic Slim among winners


Chicago blues legend Magic Slim

Chicago blues legend Magic Slim

Photo by Chris Jacobs, courtesy Blind Pig Records

The readers of Blues Blast magazine, a free weekly Internet blues music magazine published by Illinois Blues, have voted and chosen the winners in the publication's first annual Blues Blast Music Awards.

Over 11,000 readers from all 50 states and 40 other countries voted online for this year's winners, which included Chicago blues legends Guy and Koko Taylor. Nominees in eight categories were chosen by the magazine's staff, music writers, managers, musicians and other industry professionals. Here is the complete list of all of this year's Blues Blast Music Awards winners:

Best Blues Band
Magic Slim & The Teardrops

Best Male Artist
Buddy Guy

Best Female Artist
Koko Taylor

Sean Costello Rising Star Award
John Németh

Best Contemporary Blues Recording
Holmes Brothers - State Of Grace (Alligator Records)
Compare Prices

Best Traditional Blues Recording
Lurrie Bell - Lets Talk About Love (Aria B.G. Records)
Compare Prices

Best Blues Song
Nick Moss - "Mistakes From The Past," from Play It 'Til Tomorrow (Blue Bella Records)
Compare Prices

Best New Artist Debut Recording
John Németh - Magic Touch (Blind Pig Records)
Compare Prices

Blues Blast magazine also awarded its first Lifetime Achievement Award to Delta blues legend David "Honeyboy" Edwards in recognition of Edwards' significant contributions to, and body of work in the field of blues music.

The awards show was held on Sunday, November 2nd, 2008 at Buddy Guy's Legends Club and featured performances from Blues Blast Music Award winners Magic Slim & the Teardrops, Lurrie Bell, Nick Moss, and John Németh.

Other performers during the awards ceremony included Matthew Skollar, Gerry Hundt, the Kilborn Alley Blues Band, Dave Riley, Bob Corritore, Eden Brent, Sugar Ray Norcia, Teeny Tucker, Gina Sicilia, Dave Gross, Tim "Too Slim" Langford, and others.

Check out the Blues Blast website for photos from this year's award ceremonies.

  1. About.com
  2. Entertainment
  3. Blues
  4. Blues Awards
  5. 2008 Blues Blast Music Awards - Winners of the 2008 Blues Blast Music Awards

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.