1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

2009 Blues Blast Music Awards Nominees & Winners


The Insomniacs' At Least I'm Not With You

The Insomniacs' At Least I'm Not With You

Photo courtesy Delta Groove Music

The winners have been announced, and the readers of Blues Blast magazine, a free weekly Internet blues music magazine published by Illinois Blues, have voted, choosing the winners in the publication's second annual Blues Blast Music Awards.

Last year, over 11,000 readers from all 50 states and 40 other countries voted online for their award winners, which included Chicago blues legends Buddy Guy and Koko Taylor. Nominees in eight categories are chosen by the magazine's staff, music writers, managers, musicians and other industry professionals.

For your consideration, here is a complete list of all of this year's Blues Blast Music Awards nominees and their categories, with the winners noted by bold text:

Best Contemporary Blues Recording

The Insomniacs - At Least I'm Not With You


Best Traditional Blues Recording

Various Artists - Chicago Blues: A Living History


Best Blues Song

Albert Castiglia - "Bad Year Blues"


  • Albert Castiglia - "Bad Year Blues"
  • The Insomniacs - "At Least I'm Not With You"
  • Chris James & Patrick Rynn - "Mr. Coffee"
  • Curtis Salgado - "20 Years of B.B. King"
  • Kenny Neal - "Let Life Flow"
  • B.B. King - "See That My Grave is Kept Clean"

Best Blues Band

Nick Moss & the Flip Tops


  • Nick Moss & the Flip Tops
  • Lil' Ed & the Blues Imperials
  • Kilborn Alley Blues Band
  • The Mannish Boys
  • The Insomniacs
  • Watermelon Slim & the Workers

Best Male Artist

Elvin Bishop


  • John Primer
  • Bobby Jones
  • Lurrie Bell
  • Nick Moss
  • John Nemeth
  • Elvin Bishop

Best Female Artist

Robin Rogers


  • Shirley Johnson
  • Robin Rogers
  • Diunna Greenleaf
  • Shemekia Copeland
  • Eden Brent
  • Janiva Magness

Best New Artist Debut Recording

Chris James & Patrick Rynn - Stop And Think About It


  • Chris James & Patrick Rynn - Stop And Think About It
  • Joanne Shaw Taylor - White Sugar
  • Dave Herrero - Austin To Chicago
  • Cedric Burnside & Lightnin' Malcolm - 2 Man Wrecking Crew
  • Guy King - Livin' It
  • Eden Brent - Mississippi Number One

Sean Costello Rising Star Award

Kilborn Alley Blues Band


  • Kilborn Alley Blues Band
  • Joanne Shaw Taylor
  • Albert Castiglia
  • Dave Gross
  • Cedric Burnside & Lightnin' Malcolm
  • Eden Brent

Winners were announced at an all-star live show on Friday, October 30, 2009.

  1. About.com
  2. Entertainment
  3. Blues
  4. Blues Awards
  5. 2009 Blues Blast Music Awards - Nominees & Winners of the 2009 Blues Blast Music Awards

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.