1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email
Reverend Keith A. Gordon

Devon Allman CD Preview

By January 24, 2013

Follow me on:

Devon Allman's TurquoisePossibly energized and inspired by a year spent in the company of the great Cyril Neville and talented blues guitarist and songwriter Mike Zito, touring in support of the self-titled 2012 album from the red-hot Royal Southern Brotherhood, Devon Allman came back off the road long enough to record his debut solo album. Titled Turquoise, the album will be released on February 12, 2013 by Ruf Records.

Allman recorded Turquoise with producer Jim Gaines in his Tennessee studio, with other recording done at the legendary Ardent Studios in Memphis. Allman put together a mighty impressive roster of talent to record Turquoise, including RSB drummer Yonrico Scott and Myles Weeks, with folks like guitarist Luther Dickinson, saxophonist Ron Holloway, and keyboardist Rick Steff joining the party as studio guests. Blueswoman Samantha Fish also adds vocals to the album.

The material on Turquoise is highly-personal and reflects Allman's life on the road over the past decade. Along with ten original songs, including two tunes co-written with Zito, Allman and Fish deliver a monster version of Tom Petty's "Stop Draggin' My Heart Around." Also included on the album are autobiographical tales like "Homesick" and "When I Left Home" and, of course, Turquoise will be supported by a lengthy tour. "These songs are very special to me," says Allman in a press release for Turquoise. "It's part 'dusty road driving music' and part 'tropical getaway' music. These are the stories, feelings and reflections from my last couple of decades of forging my musical path."

Related content: Devon Allman Interview

Photo courtesy Ruf Records


No comments yet. Leave a Comment

Leave a Comment

Line and paragraph breaks are automatic. Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title="">, <b>, <i>, <strike>

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.