1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email
Reverend Keith A. Gordon

Jimi Hendrix's 70th Birthday Celebration

By November 15, 2012

Follow me on:

Jimi Hendrix Experience Live In CologneOn November 27th, 2012 the world will celebrate what would have been the 70th birthday of blues-rock guitar great Jimi Hendrix. While those of us who follow these sort of things have needlessly debated for better than four decades what sort of ground-breaking music the guitarist might have made if he hadn't died in September 1970, the truth is that Hendrix released a wealth of great sounds during his all-too-brief career.

Experience Hendrix, LLC - the family trust run by Hendrix's sister Janie to look after the musician's legacy - is planning a heck of a (figurative) party in celebration of Jimi's upcoming birthday. Instead of cake and ice cream, fans will get a chance to check out the guitarist's near-mythical performance at the Woodstock Festival in August 1969 on the big screen. Hendrix 70: Live At Woodstock is a special theatrical presentation of Hendrix's fourteen-song Woodstock performance, the film assembled by director Michael Wadleigh and featuring such crowd-pleasing tunes as "Purple Haze," "Foxey Lady," "Voodoo Child (Slight Return)," and the guitarist's incendiary version of the "Star Spangled Banner."

The original 16mm film footage used to create Hendrix 70: Live At Woodstock has been digitally restored and provided a new 5.1 audio surround-sound mix by longtime Hendrix engineer Eddie Kramer and will be show at select theaters worldwide beginning November 26th. Fans can get their hands on more live music from the six-string legend when Experience Hendrix releases The Jimi Hendrix Experience: Live In Cologne as part of its Dagger Records official "bootleg" series. The two-disc, vinyl-only release captures a January 13, 1969 performance by the band at the Sporthalle in Cologne, Germany and fans that buy the LP will also receive a redemption card with a unique access code allowing the buyer to download a free digital copy of the album in mp3 format.

This Cologne show includes performances of many of Hendrix's best songs, and includes two notable cover tunes - Jimi's take on Cream's "Sunshine of Your Love" and Earl King's blues classic "Come On (Let The Good Times Roll)," from the band's Electric Ladyland album. Unlike the recent live discs released by the family with Sony Legacy, The Jimi Hendrix Experience: Live In Cologne is more of a historical document, recorded in mono and featuring low-fi sound typical of fan recordings of the era...which doesn't detract from the band's fiery performance one iota. While the LP release may be aimed at the hardcore fan, it's a welcome addition to the guitarist's growing catalog of live recordings. The album is now available for pre-order on the Jimi Hendrix website.

The Jimi Hendrix Experience: Live In Cologne tracklist:

Disc One, Side One:
1. Come On (Let The Good Times Roll)
2. Foxey Lady

Disc One, Side Two:
1. Red House
2. Voodoo Child (Slight Return)

Disc Two, Side One:
1. Fire
2. Spanish Castle Magic
3. Hey Joe

Disc Two, Side Two:
1. Sunshine Of Your Love
2. Star Spangled Banner
3. Purple Haze

Photo courtesy Experience Hendrix, LLC


No comments yet. Leave a Comment

Leave a Comment

Line and paragraph breaks are automatic. Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title="">, <b>, <i>, <strike>
  1. About.com
  2. Entertainment
  3. Blues

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.